U.S. Green Building Council's Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®)

A series of rating systems aimed at increasing the environmental and health performance of buildings’ sites and structures and of neighborhoods. LEED® covers the design, construction, and operations of all types of buildings.


Building Design and Construction (BD+C)

For new construction or major renovations. Includes:

  • New Construction
  • Core & Shell

BD+C also includes applications for: Schools, Retail, Hospitality, Data Centers, Warehouses & Distribution Centers and Healthcare


Interior Design and Construction (ID+C)

For complete interior fit-out projects. Includes:

  • Commercial Interiors

ID+C also includes applications for Retail and Hospitality.


Building Operations and Maintenance (O+M)

For existing buildings that are undergoing improvement work or little to no construction. Includes:

  • Existing Buildings

O+M also includes applications for Schools, Retail, Hospitality, Data Centers, and Warehouses & Distribution Centers.



Neighborhood Development (ND)

For new land development projects or redevelopment projects containing residential uses, nonresidential uses, or a mix. Projects can be at any stage of the development process, from conceptual planning to construction. Includes:

  • Plan and Built Project




For single family homes, low-rise multi-family (one to three stories) or mid-rise multi-family (four to six stories). Includes:

  • Homes
  • Multifamily Lowrise
  • Multifamily Midrise

Homes and residential buildings that are greater than six stories use LEED BD+C


Cities and Communities

For entire cities and sub-sections of a city. LEED for Cities projects can measure and manage their city’s water consumption, energy use, waste, transportation and human experience. Learn more about LEED for Cities.

Existing Cities and Communities scorecard / New Places (Plan and Design Phase) scorecard / Guide to LEED Certification: Cities and Communities Pilot

LEED Recertification

LEED recertification is an important step in protecting your building asset. Recertification helps you maintain and improve your building while keeping your sustainability investment in place. Applies to all occupied and in-use projects that have previously achieved certification under LEED – including BD+C and ID+C, regardless of their initial rating system or version.


Available for all LEED projects certified under the BD+C or O+M rating systems or registered to pursue LEED O+M certification. LEED Zero is for projects with net zero goals in carbon and/or resources.

How does LEED work

Projects pursuing LEED certification earn points for green building strategies across several categories. Based on the number of points achieved, a project earns one of four LEED rating levels: Certified, Silver, Gold or Platinum.


80+ points earned


60-79 points earned


50-59 points earned


40-49 points earned